Social Commentary

An Attack On The Happy Meal…

In food, Health, reflectons on December 17, 2010 at 9:46 pm

When I first heard about McDonald’s being sued over The Happy Meal, I thought it was the most ridiculous thing I had heard in a long time.  The reason for my thoughts:

*Who did The Happy Meal ever hurt?

The meal of a burger, fry, and beverage–admittedly, not the healthiest meal–has brought joy to so many children over the years.  It’s something about getting that tiny, cheap toy which probably costs a few cents to manufacture. 

*Parents should be able to monitor what their children eat.

McDonald’s does not control what a child eats.  It is the parents’ responsibility to monitor their child’s diet.  The parent can “Just say no.” 

*I think it’s a bit hypocritical for the government to get involved in The Happy Meal controversy when there are pesticide laden fruits and hormone injected meats sitting right there in the grocery store up the street.

I shared my opinions with a good buddy of mine.  She, a mother of two toddlers, politely explained that there was more to it—McDonald’s commercials are all over children’s television programs. I don’t have small children.  So, I was oblivious to the fact that McDonald’s had been directly targeting the little buggers.

Okay, I get it…The kids are watching Saturday morning cartoons and a Happy Meal commercial pops up on the screen.  Then later that day, the kids command from the backseat, “Mommy, I want a Happy Meal.” 

So, maybe there can be some type of comprise.  Perhaps, McDonald’s can reduce the amount of commercials which directly influence children.  But, let’s not take away The Happy Meal…Everything in moderation.

Leave a Reply

