Social Commentary

Bullies Suck!

In Uncategorized on October 11, 2010 at 3:44 pm

This morning, I read a story in the local newspaper about another child who recently took his own life because he was being bullied by students on the bus.  I am so saddened by the fact that bright, talented youngsters are taking their lives because of the low life bullies who prey on them. 

Most people I’ve talked with have been bullied at one time or another.  I wonder why bullying is just now being addressed in the media and by some states as a legal matter.  Better late than never, I suppose.

My first “being bullied” experience was in the sixth grade.  A few weeks after school started, I was moved into another reading class.  I was placed at a table with two boys and a girl named “Sherri”.  I was tormented daily—teasing, spit balls, being kicked under the table, etc.  To this day, I wonder why my teacher didn’t do anything, even after it was brought to her attention.  If I remember correctly, I wasn’t even moved from the table.  How cruel!

The following year, I still had a lot of classes with Sherri, unfortunately.  There were the nasty comments when I missed hitting the volleyball over the net or the name calling (starts with a b and ends with an h) when I refused to let her cheat off of my paper—the nerve of me. 

The only thing that got her off of my back was when I had had enough, and I had a few choice words for her in the gym locker room.  “Why are you mad at Sherri?” her friends, whom I didn’t much like either, wanted to know.  As if they had no clue.  Birds of a feather do flock together.    

Anyway, she backed off a great deal after our little verbal altercation.  But, it shouldn’t have taken me acting like an ass for her to stop being a bully to me.  And, wonder if she hadn’t backed off?  Things could’ve gotten worse as some bullies become more tormenting when they are confronted by their victim.   

Then, the next time I was bullied was during student teaching–by my supervising teacher.  This lady was one of the nastiest people I’ve ever encountered—racist, condescending, vindictive, etc. 

I endured three months of hell with that monster.  If I had it to do over again, I would’ve dropped out of the student teaching program, and I would’ve resumed the following semester.  Other than that, I should’ve pressed harder to get out of that situation.  When I did complain, however, my field work supervisor turned a blind eye to it, offering me no support.

Then, I endured being bullied by my first principal.  I’ve had other horrific principals,  but she certainly takes the cake.  This woman (also a monster) notoriously bullied teachers and staff throughout her career.  It was allowed (not addressed) by the union and the school system’s administration.  She rode my back for about a year.  I consistently stood up to her, though.  Finally, I guess she grew tired and left me alone.  However, there were those she never let up on. 

And don’t think teachers don’t get bullied by other students.  Let me just say, I do not want to teach in a middle school ever again in life.  

Bottom line is that bullies only exist because we allow them to exist.  As a teacher, I was very strict about students’ inappropriate behavior towards others.  If I knew a student was being harassed/ bullied to any degree, I tried to put an end to it.  Also, I tried to be supportive to fellow teachers who were experiencing a situation in which they were being bullied.  But, all too often, others either join in on the bullying or ignore it altogether.

We must take a stand for those who are being bullied.  Enough is enough!

Leave a Reply

