Social Commentary

Republicans Are On My Last Nerve…

In Politically Speaking on October 4, 2010 at 9:25 pm

Who will it be: The Democrats or Republicans?

Although, I have never actually voted anything but Democrat, I am not beyond voting for a Republican candidate.  I have just always found Democratic candidates to be the lesser of the two evils.   

It’s just that Republicans worry me with their holier-than-thou attitudes. “I am better, so I shall have and you shall have not…”

I have a friend (we’re not that close anymore) who voted for a Republican president a few years ago. Yep, she had the nerve to vote for G.W. Bush. Her vote for Bush is not why we’re not that close anymore, but it surely made me think…

“Why?” I asked after getting over the initial shock of it all–I thought we had similar values due to our similar upbringings.
Her response was simply that his Christian values were more closely aligned with her own beliefs.

Of course, in my mind, that was hogwash. Just because Bush professes to be a “Christian”–antiabortion and homophobic–did not mean that he would be the best President for our country–obviously.

So, when he won twice (technically), I figured there were a whole lot of people out there who were completely clueless. The proof is in the pudding; Bush will go down in history as one of the worst President’s in history–unless history gets kinder.

But, here we go again. The Repubs have a chance to take over. They don’t want healthcare for all, they don’t want this, and they don’t want that. It makes me want to rename the Republican Party the Selfish Party.

If the American voters allow Republicans to take over Congress in November, it will confirm my thoughts that humanity is seriously lacking in America. Denmark is looking better each day.

Don’t even get me started on The Tea Party…Just ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

